The Best Part of Me

When you walked out of my life… There were so many things my mind wouldn’t think. My heart couldn’t feel. My mouth didn’t say. Because the pain was just too big like the fear that I would break… when you took away the best part of me.

I was too busy staring at the way you put a sway into your hips. When I should have been seeing the lies leaving your lips. Noticing the scissors cutting away the stars from my night sky. Grabbing at cloud nine before it was taken from beneath my feet. When you took away the best part of me.

When you walked out of my life; you left me with the smell of you on my sheets. Your name echoing in my dreams. My soul screaming for you to come back. When you took away the best part of me.

I was too busy cupping your face in my hands; writing your name in the sand. When I should have been noticing cupid firing blanks. Hearing the tree with our initials being cut down. The stopping of the Ferris wheel from our first date from turning around. When you took away the best part of me.

When you walked out of my life; I could never go back to the same old city, the same little house or the same pretty memory… of that time in the sun, looking into your eyes and you turning to me and saying you loved me… now I know it’s just nostalgia, wishes and broken promises, when you said you would never walk out of my life.

Leave a Reply

